top of page
  • Writer's pictureErien Mae Malagkit

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Power is a Dangerous Game. Rise Red as Dawn. Lighting Girl.


My personal copy of the first book for the Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

If you love reading fictional genre of books, this is just the right choice for you. I won't be lying, because at first I was also hesitant reading this book but through the series of endorsement I've received from my best friend about it and constantly watching reviews of the first readers about this book, I have decided to give it a try. It was a long decision to come, it was not easy since it is quite pricey, it costs about Php 435.00 and considering I am a mere student. But I am glad I've made a wise decision. It was super worth it!


I was looking for some stories quite similar to the book The Selection series by Kiera Cass, and I end up having this one. Despite the story tackles a somehow deep topics suitable for ages at least 15 and above to quite fully grasp and understand it, the story was just the perfect combination of romance, fantasy and action. It was like a promo in a grocery store yet I bought this from a book store, a 3-in-1 book.


Let me try to share and recommend this book to you without somehow spoiling the whole story and the juicy scenes of the book to each and everyone of you (mind the word 'try').


Inherently, Red Queen is about a world, divided into two by blood; red and silver. Red bloods are considered as the ordinary people, the ones who doesn't possess any powers, the slaves and the poor. While the Silvers are considered as the Elites, they have godly-superpowers, however that have rotten personalities, they look down to the reds and abuse their powers unto them. Enters a girl, namely, Mare Barrow who happens to work as a pick-pocket in their place called, Stilts. One night, she accidentally runs into the Silver Prince, Tiberias Calore; despite knowing her background as a pick-pocket he still hired her to work as a slave at the palace, keeping in mind that a mere pick-pocket girl is still harmless when it comes to them, Silvers. However, what do they not know was Mare is a special case, a mutant. Her blood is red yet she is as powerful as a Silver. Fearing that this case would be known to the public, the royal family decided to held her captive in the palace, and not just a simple prisoner but as the fiance of Cal's half-brother younger prince, Maven Calore. Both were in love to Mare. One has the right to have her but the one is still trying to win her heart even thought Mare's heart was at his when all of this began. Who will she choose?



A threat to the Lightning Girl

Believe me when I say that the romantic scenes of the book was just a treat for us, its plot is more that just that. This boom got me jumping out of my seat with its huge plot twist at the end. You better be prepared feeling all kinds of emotions for this book! It was totally worth it. It not at all princessy style of book. It is all about action and so much more. Give it a try! See it, believe it, and fall in love with it.


Red Queen already has its subsequent published books out there. I have the the second and third book, it all I can say is just "WOW". Currently, I am onto reading the fourth entry for this series of Victoria Aveyard.


"Anyone can betray anyone."

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page