top of page
  • Writer's pictureErien Mae Malagkit

Lara Jean Series Book Review

"To belong to someone-- I didn't know it, but now that I think about it, it seem like that's all I ever wanted. To be really somebody's and to have them be mine." -Lara Jean


Back in 2014, after reading a trilogy book entitled Burn for Burn (which is by the way, one of the good books out there. If you have the time, give it a try) written by Jenny Han and together with another author Siobhan Vivian, I got more interested in their works. So of course I went to the book store to search for books, then as I was browsing through the Young Adult section this book got my attention. Like, how could I not? Can't you see, the cover is just too cute, very girly girly or teenage like and take note I was just 14 years old at that time, and how could I resist such temptation? (so much for being over dramatic, well that's me!) So the typical teenager in me was very prone into picking books that is about romance, flowers, rainbows and butterflies. And yes, you have got it right, as soon as I read through the synopsis (it's still important to read the synopsis of books, just to make sure they're worth your money) I bought the book and read it for just like 2 days. Recently, a movie for this book was made, it is a film from Netflix. The movie was not disappointing but there are just some points I wish was portrayed better.

My own copies of Lara Jean Series by Jenny Han

So back to the topic,-- I know that you could tell that it was a good story, and yes! It actually is a good story. I don't want to spoil you especially if you haven't read the book but have seen the movie (yet it is still much better if you read the book) or haven't read the book or watched the movie at all, but you know, eventually along the way, I'll accidentally spill some juicy parts, so I'm saying sorry in advance.


Basically, the story revolves around the girl named Lara Jean Covey, she's a Korean-American descent. Her mom's a Korean, her dad is an American and works as a doctor. She has 1 elder sister named Margot and 1 younger sibling which is, Kitty. Their mom died early because of an accident so she grew up with her father and 2 sisters. And as they grew up, Margot is the one filling the part as their mother so Lara Jean really adores and looks up to her. Enters, Josh Sanderson—Margot’s boyfriend, Lara Jean’s friend and ooops! Her crush. In a hatbox given to her by her mother, she writes letters, love letters to be exact addressed to all the boys she fell in love with – five in total. She writes when she wants and will herself to get over those feelings. However, someone sent all those love letters to all the boys. And Peter Kavinsky received one. At that point, that’s where the messy life of Lara Jean began.

Lara Jean's letter for Peter Kavinsky

It is a swoon worthy book, suitable for ages 14 and above. Parents do not have to worry if they think it is too "romancy" for their child because the author/publisher the considers the age of their target readers, and they have successfully done so. If I can just say one thing, it would be a book that is sure as a page-turner. Once you start reading it, you can't stop even if you wanted to. That's why it isn't questionable when the series became #1 at the New York Times Best-seller. Followed by a sequel and soon it became a trilogy (however, I don't have the actual third book but I'm done reading it.


As mentioned, the second book is entitled as "P.S. I still love you", which is just as good as the first book or maybe even better! Its book cover is still as pretty as the first one. The story has gotten even more better and jucier! How can it not? Pretending is over, and new relationship is starting to bloom yet when two boys from the past, both have received letters from Lara Jean is fighting for her heart, can a girl be in love with two boys at once? Who will she choose? I'll leave it for you to find out!


Someone from the past is writing to our girl who first started writing the letters.


The last entry for Lara Jean series book is entitled as "Always and Forever Lara Jean", this book would be the greatest spoiler for all but be glad that I won't share a single thing about it. But just so you know, Jenny Han never ever really disappoints. I want you all to be the judge of yourself, it is truly recommended. Of course, we may have different preferences so, the verdict is still on your hands. But if you're thinking to buy the books and you think we have similar taste, I am telling you it is worth every penny and this book is just the right choice. Give it a try, and fall in love to the book and its characters just like how I did.


"Love is scary; it changes; it can go away. That's part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore. I want to be brave."


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page