top of page
  • Writer's pictureEljay Peji

Nisekoi Manga Review

I was about to make a review about Happy Sugar Life but then changed my mind because I remember how great Nisekoi was as a manga. This must be rare for me to make a review about harem because to be fairly honest, in my subjective opinion, harem is one of my hatest genre.


https://www.ricedigital.co.uk/nisekoi-season-two-review-anime/

[JUST A LITTLE CAUTION BECAUSE THIS REVIEW MIGHT GIVE SPOILERS]

Just to give you a short introduction about the manga, Nisekoi is all about the son of a yakuza named Ichigo Raku and the daughter of a gang named Chitoge Kirasaki. They crossed their paths when Chitoge hopped on their school wall and accidentally stepped on Raku's face. After chasing one another, Raku learned that they were in the same classroom, discovering that Chitoge is a transferee. They also learned that they were being set up by their fathers in order for the Yakuza and Beehive to dwell in peace and to suffice that, they need to act as a lovey-dovey couple. Because they hated each other, they try their best not to get caught by their own respective group that they aren't really a couple. The story revolves with the main character's love-hate relationship, finding out the person Raku promised to 10 years ago and of course lots of girls—I mean harem.


If I were to rate the whole story, it would be 7/10 for me because first of all, I really hate mangas with low key ecchi. If this manga wouldn't be that (lewd?!) I'd probably give a review of 10. There's a heartwarming character progression and decent chemistry between the characters. I highly commend Chitoge for existing in the manga. She's a little bit tsundere or not-so-straightforward but you can feel that her love and feelings towards Raku grow as the chapters passes by. I also commend the over all love-hate relationship of Raku and Chitoge all through out—but that is only at the first 60 chapters of the manga. Chapters after that focuses on Raku's harem towards the other girls which is, I find very annoying.


I rate Nisekoi's graphic contents as 9/10 for the reason that the graphics aren't that made slightly similar to classic anime. They have their own style that lights up each of the individual characters. The way on how they draw each character's facial expressions moves the audience to the point that someone can cry for the entire day. Good thing, I'm not that crybaby—just kidding.


Credits to the manga itself


Characters' rating is 5/10 for the reason that I fairly hate other characters' personality. This might be favoritism but I think, out of the 6 girls, Chitoge and Marika are the only one who deserve the kudos.



Chitoge for saving the whole manga series (thank you Chitoge for making me read the whole manga) and Marika for those selfless sacrifices although she's been very bothersome at the first chapters. Marika grew into my heart step by step. One thing, I also like Raku's bestfriend named Shuu because (he's my type) he redirects Raku's life whenever he's lost. He's someone that I wanted to protect with the rest of my life and I wanted to have a friend who's like him (excluding his perverted personality, of course). I hate Raku for some reason that he represents every dense main character on every harem anime that I watch. I also hate their childhood bestfriend named Onodera for acting so annoyingly loveydovey and cutesy. She's so indecisive and doesn't have any courage to confess to Raku! Boi! SHE'S THE ONE THAT RAKU PROMISED UNTO WHEN THEY WERE KIDS BUT SHE DOESN'T HAVE ANY GUTS TO FACE RAKU. I REALLY HATE HER.


https://www.ricedigital.co.uk/nisekoi-season-two-review-anime/

Moving on, I really enjoyed the childhood connection of each character and the mystery of finding the promised girl whom Raku will marry during his childhood. I also enjoyed the interaction of Haru's harem. It's a fun-packed filled anime with lots of adventure and love story that every shounen lovers will love. I recommend this mostly to boys who were engaged to see different waifus in one manga. This manga would really be an enjoyment to them.

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page